Select Page

Post University Blog

Today, the Boys Scouts of America CT River Council honored CEO & President John L. Hopkins at the 3rd Annual Vale La Pena Breakfast. He received the Elbert K. Fretwell Outstanding Educator Award, which is presented by local scouts to teachers, educational staff, and school administrators who champion learning and promote positive values and community service.

Senior Vice President for Government Affairs Eric Berthel accepted the award on behalf of President Hopkins. He read a message from President Hopkins. “This award isn’t about me as an outstanding educator or leader. This award is about the entire University – our educators, our staff, and all of our associates – who are preparing young people to make ethical and good moral choices. This award truly recognizes all of Post University.”

Attending the program was Post alumnus Selim G. Noujaim, who is also a member of the University’s Board of Trustees. Also spotted at the program was Lisa-Marie Ortega, an online honors student and member of the Online Student Government Association. Ortega, a student in the John P. Burke School of Public Service and Education, is pursuing her bachelor’s degree in Human Services with Post.

The other community leaders recognized at the breakfast were Michael O’Connor from Webster Bank, Maria Gonzalez from New Opportunities, Inc., and veteran Scoutmaster Bill “Bones” Meo from Waterbury Troop Post 3.